free geoip
32.5 C
New York
Saturday, June 22, 2024

NASCAR All-Star Race 2024 beginning lineup: Joey Logano wins pole at North Wilkesboro

Watch Now Free

Getty Photographs

NORTH WILKESBORO, N.C. — Joey Logano gained the pole for the NASCAR All-Star Race at North Wilkesboro Speedway on Saturday, incomes the highest beginning spot for the game’s annual all-star occasion with a complete time of 89.754 (75.206 mph) in a novel qualifying session. Logano’s time was the quickest in complete, accounting for time on the racetrack in addition to time spent on pit street.

All-Star qualifying featured NASCAR’s annual Pit Crew Problem, placing among the high pit crews within the Cup Collection to the take a look at as their drivers made their lap on-track after which got here to pit street for a four-tire cease. Whereas Logano’s complete time was one of the best of all drivers, the No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing pit crew had the quickest cease at 13.223 seconds, giving them the Pit Crew Problem victory and aiding driver Christopher Bell to a third-place qualifying run.

On-track actions Friday and Saturday featured a well-recognized face in an sudden place. With Kyle Larson on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway qualifying for his first Indy 500, 2014 NASCAR Cup Collection champion and future NASCAR Corridor of Famer Kevin Harvick briefly got here out of retirement to observe and qualify the No. 5 Chevrolet for Hendrick Motorsports. Harvick would qualify twelfth of the 17 drivers at present within the All-Star Race, however Larson must drop of the rear of the sphere for Sunday evening’s race because of his workforce’s driver change, per the NASCAR rulebook.

Larson wound up qualifying sixth at Indianapolis, placing him within the Quick 12 that may run for the Indianapolis 500 pole on Sunday. As for Harvick, he would change out of his firesuit after his run and shortly resumed his broadcasting duties for Fox Sports activities.

As Logano’s qualifying effort had assured him the highest beginning spot for the All-Star Race, the remainder of the beginning lineup was to be decided by a pair of Warmth races on Saturday night. Nonetheless, excessive rains would hit North Wilkesboro throughout the afternoon’s Craftsman Truck Collection race — the observe later introduced that 4 inches of rain fell inside a two-hour interval, flooding many areas, together with pit street — ensuing within the Heats being cancelled and the lineup being set per the outcomes of time trial qualifying.

Watch Now Free

Rain on Friday afternoon additionally altered the lineup for the All-Star Open, as late showers that prevented some drivers from making a correct lap led to all of time trials being discarded and the lineup being set by proprietor’s factors. Ty Gibbs and Alex Bowman will begin on the entrance row for the Open, which can see the highest two finishers — plus the fan vote winner — advance to the All-Star Race.

NASCAR All-Star Race beginning lineup

  1. #22 – Joey Logano
  2. #6 – Brad Keselowski
  3. #20 – Christopher Bell
  4. #99 – Daniel Suarez
  5. #17 – Chris Buescher
  6. #45 – Tyler Reddick
  7. #1 – Ross Chastain
  8. #19 – Martin Truex Jr.
  9. #34 – Michael McDowell
  10. #16 – A.J. Allmendinger
  11. #11 – Denny Hamlin
  12. #5 – Kevin Harvick (Kyle Larson)
  13. #24 – William Byron
  14. #8 – Kyle Busch
  15. #9 – Chase Elliott
  16. #47 – Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  17. #12 – Ryan Blaney

All-Star Open beginning lineup

  1. #54 – Ty Gibbs
  2. #48 – Alex Bowman
  3. #14 – Chase Briscoe
  4. #23 – Bubba Wallace
  5. #10 – Noah Gragson
  6. #2 – Austin Cindric
  7. #4 – Josh Berry (R)
  8. #38 – Todd Gilliland
  9. #42 – John Hunter Nemechek
  10. #77 – Carson Hocevar (R)
  11. #43 – Erik Jones
  12. #41 – Ryan Preece
  13. #7 – Corey LaJoie
  14. #31 – Daniel Hemric
  15. #3 – Austin Dillon
  16. #51 – Justin Haley
  17. #21 – Harrison Burton
  18. #15 – Kaz Grala (R)
  19. #71 – Zane Smith (R)
  20. #66 – Timmy Hill

Watch Now Free

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles