free geoip
25.3 C
New York
Thursday, June 6, 2024

Final time a Canadian workforce gained the Stanley Cup: Oilers trying to finish 31-year drought towards the Panthers

Watch Now Free

Getty Photos

4 wins are all of the Edmonton Oilers have to change into the primary Canadian workforce to carry the Stanley Cup in 31 years. Canadian fan bases have been craving a Cup parade for the final three a long time, and Edmonton may simply get one if it may possibly get previous the Florida Panthers.

On June 9, 1993, the Montreal Canadiens handed across the Stanley Cup after beating the Los Angeles Kings in 5 video games. Jurassic Park was mauling its competitors on the field workplace. “Roseanne” and ‘Dwelling Enchancment” have been on nearly each TV in America. Janet Jackson’s “That is the Method Love Goes” was topping the billboard charts.

Since then, the Stanley Cup has taken up residence in the US for 31 consecutive years.

That is a very long time for a hockey-crazy nation to go with no Cup winner, however Canadian groups have executed their justifiable share of dominating all through the years. The Canadiens lead the NHL with 23 Stanley Cup wins, together with 5 straight from 1956-60.

The Toronto Maple Leafs have change into the butt of many postseason jokes within the modern-day, however that they had a pair dynasties of their very own within the 40s and 60s. In whole, Toronto has gained the Cup 13 instances, even when it has been practically 60 years since their final championship.

Watch Now Free

The Oilers themselves are lots accustomed to Lord Stanley. From 1984-88, Edmonton gained the Stanley Cup in 4 out of 5 years with the good Wayne Gretzky main a workforce chock-full of future Corridor of Famers like Mark Messier, Paul Coffey, and Grant Fuhr. The Oilers gained their fifth and most up-to-date Stanley Cup in 1990, after sending Gretzky to the Kings two years earlier.

If they will beat the Panthers, which weren’t even a franchise in 1993 when Montreal gained the final Cup for a Canadian workforce, the Oilers will lastly deliver the Stanley Cup north of the border, ending the prolonged drought. With that in thoughts, let’s check out how lengthy every Canadian workforce has gone with no championship.

Toronto Maple Leafs | 57 years

  • Stanley Cup wins: 13
  • Years gained: 1967, 1964, 1963, 1962, 1951, 1949, 1948, 1947, 1945, 1942, 1932, 1922, 1918

Vancouver Canucks | 54 years

  • Stanley Cup wins: 0
  • Years gained: N/A

Calgary Flames | 35 years

  • Stanley Cup wins: 1
  • Years gained: 1989

Edmonton Oilers | 34 years

  • Stanley Cup wins: 5
  • Years gained: 1990, 1988, 1987, 1985, 1984

Ottawa Senators | 32 years

  • Stanley Cup wins: 0
  • Years gained: N/A

Montreal Canadiens | 31 years

  • Stanley Cup wins: 23
  • Years gained: 1993, 1986, 1979, 1978, 1977, 1976, 1973, 1971, 1969, 1968, 1966, 1965, 1960, 1959, 1958, 1957, 1956, 1953, 1946, 1944, 1931, 1930, 1924, 1926

Winnipeg Jets | 13 years

  • Stanley Cup wins: 0
  • Years gained: N/A

Watch Now Free

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles