free geoip
7.5 C
New York
Monday, April 8, 2024

Australian Open 2023: Aryna Sabalenka wins first profession Grand Slam, continues dominant early season run

Watch Now Free

Aryna Sabalenka has claimed the 2023 Australian Open title with a 4-6, 6-3, 6-3 win over reigning Wimbledon champion Elena Rybakina. The 24-year-old Sabalenka captured her first profession grand slam with the victory after making the US Open semifinal every of the previous two seasons and the Wimbledon semifinals in 2021.

Sabalenka has now gained 11 matches in a row. She has been dominant this yr as she reached the semifinal spherical with out dropping a single set, and had gained 20 consecutive units heading into her first main closing. 

After taking the primary set, Rybakina could not maintain on within the back-and-forth match however was capable of save championship level thrice within the closing set a deuce earlier than a forehand sailed lengthy to clinch the championship for Sabalenka.

The 2 hour and 28 minute seesaw battle noticed large hitting all through from each gamers with Sabalenka outpacing Rybakina in winners (51-31) and aces (17-9). Each gamers additionally gained 71 % of their first serve factors.

“I need to [say] congrats to Elena for an unimaginable two weeks. You are such a terrific participant and naturally we’ll have many extra finals…hopefully within the finals of a Grand Slam,” Sabalenka mentioned after the match of her opponent, who took residence her first Grand Slam singles title final yr at Wimbledon. 

2023 is now the eighth consecutive season had been there was a first-time Grand Slam singles winner within the WTA, and 4 of the previous eight Slams — Barbora Krejcokova 2021 French Open, Emma Raducanu 2021 US Open, Rybaknia 2022 Wimbledon and Sabalenka 2023 Australian Open  — have been captured by first-time Grand Slam champions.  

Watch Now Free

Sabalenka will transfer up three spots within the WTA rankings to match her career-high rating of No. 2 — which she reached on Aug. 23, 2021.

Whereas the Belarus-born participant competed individually and with out a nationwide flag due to Australian Open guidelines established after the Russian invasion of Ukraine, Sabalenka did change into the second Belarusian participant to win s singles Grand Slam championship, following two-time Australian Open champion Victoria Azarenka (2012, 2013) who misplaced to Rybakina within the semifinals on the Australian Open in 2023. 

Sabalenka has now gained 4 out of the 5 matches in her all-time collection in opposition to Rybakina. Their solely different assembly at a Grand Slam had been in within the Spherical of 16 at Wimbledon in 2021.

The highest gamers on the WTA tour head to the Center East subsequent for the WTA 500 Mubadala Abu Dhabi Open, WTA 500 Qatar TotalEnergies Open and WTA 1000 Dubai Obligation Free Tennis Championships. Grand Slam season resumes in 

Watch Now Free

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles